Guys! I need help!

This is for all discussions related to IT and technology. Hardware, software, programming, it all goes here.
Post Reply
ANON-fox
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 5:40 pm
Gender: Male
Sexual preference: Straight
Species: Fox
Region: Gauteng

Guys! I need help!

#1

Post by ANON-fox »

I need help with this PHP code.

I need to create a load-bar using PHP, but the apc_fetch does not work.
The error returned is: Fatal error: Call to undefined function apc_fetch()
The code is this: $status = apc_fetch('upload_'.$_GET['progress_key']);

I have looked on the NET for explanations but I did not get any help.
All they say is something in the php.ini or .htacces must change, and then do not say what.
The server running the PHP is a Unix.

I know this is not exactly the right site to submit this to, but I got this feeling you guys might be able to help me. :D
I have submitted this to other sites as well.
Last edited by ANON-fox on Wed Aug 04, 2010 5:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ANON-fox
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 5:40 pm
Gender: Male
Sexual preference: Straight
Species: Fox
Region: Gauteng

Re: Guys! I need help!

#2

Post by ANON-fox »

I have found help on http://www.php.net/manual/en/apc.installation.php but I am still unsure and haven’t been able to test it successfully jet. If you Guys have any advice or tips I can use please tell me. (I find it very vage).

The problem still continues and the pressure is on to get it working.
*My thoughts: “You want me to install it how?”
User avatar
anoyomouse
Posts: 1192
Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 12:04 pm
Gender: Male
Sexual preference: Bi-mostly gay
Species: Brown House mouse
Region: Gauteng
Location: Edenvale ... behind a PC
Contact:

Re: Guys! I need help!

#3

Post by anoyomouse »

Sounds like you're missing the APC PHP function, so either PHP wasn't installed with this feature, or it wasn't copied across to the main install, some server admins do this to make thier installations more "secure", you might find a drop-in replacement in the PHP PEAR pages (i found some missing PHP 4 functions i was using - the source was written for php5 - and it got the php 5 source to run on the server's php4)

Dunno what else to suggest, i've never done loading bars in PHP before. Kinda fell off the bus before the invention and mainstrewaming of Javascript and AJAX :P
~~~(___^> *squeak*
Post Reply