Computer advice

This is for all discussions related to IT and technology. Hardware, software, programming, it all goes here.
Rakuen Growlithe
Fire Puppy
Sexual preference: Bi
Species: Growlithe (pokemon)
Region: Other

Computer advice

Post by Rakuen Growlithe »

Since I couldn't bring my desktop computer with me overseas in my luggage and shipping it costs a quarter of what I paid for it new I want to buy a new one. I'm fine with using computers but I'm not a hardware expert. Last time I got a computer I just gave Dracius a budget and told him to build me something that could play games. Since that's no longer an option I found a company that builds custom computers. What I need is advice on the hardware I'm putting into it and whether the cost is good.

This is example of what I was going for. It's more expensive than my last PC but should also be a lot more powerful.

AMD FX-6300 Six Core CPU (3.50GHz/8MB CACHE/AM3+)
ASUS M5A97 LE R2.0 (DDR3, USB3.0, 6Gb/s)
8GB KINGSTON DUAL-DDR3 1600MHz (1x8GB)
2GB AMD RADEON R7 250X - DVI, HDMI, VGA - DX 11.2
240GB KINGSTON V300 SSD, SATA 6 Gb (450MB/R, 450MB/W)
24X DUAL LAYER DVD WRITER +-R/+-RW/RAM
CORSAIR 550W VS SERIES VS-550 POWER SUPPLY
Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit w/SP1 - inc DVD
AOC 23.6" WIDESCREEN LED TFT - 1920 x 1080, 5MS
CM Storm Devastator Keyboard and Mouse

= ~970 € (~R 13 580)

I haven't included a webcam or speakers cause I'll try get those later. Plus the screen has speakers and I have some earbuds but I know there people here that will hate me for suggesting that.
"If all mankind minus one, were of one opinion, and only one person were of the contrary opinion, mankind would be no more justified in silencing that one person, than he, if he had the power, would be justified in silencing mankind."
~John Stuart Mill~

“Give me the liberty to know, to utter, and to argue freely according to conscience, above all liberties.”
~John Milton~
Sev
Superbike Snow Leopard
Sexual preference: Gay
Species: Snow Leopard