The land of sorry and bears, Canada

Any discussion not related to furry goes in here. Politics, religion, current affairs...this is the place for it.
Obsidian
Sexual preference: Straight
Species: Dragon
Region: Gauteng

The land of sorry and bears, Canada

Post by Obsidian »

As a bunch know I am a Electrical and Electronic engineer who is doing his Masters specializing Signals and Telecommunications.

Last year I was invited to go present my research at a 5 day conference with a bunch of different professors in the same field around the world. During the conference I got bored of my peers as they were always drunk or just tedious to be around so I started bothering the eccentric professors instead. As it turns out one Professor, The Dean of Electrical engineering at the University of Alberta, liked my bothering and also liked my research presentation and extended me an invite to come do some research collaboration with him for a couple months.

I of course said absolutely as who passes up an all expenses paid trip to a cool country so I left at end of February and have since been getting into the swing of Canadian student life here. It was the mildest winter is recent memory apparently so I got off lucky in terms of the cold. I can get around anywhere for free by bus because I am a student which is nice.

The varsity itself is decently large and for some reason every single building has at least 2 coffee shops. There are many little lounges in every faculty for students to relax or work in. Many clubs to join and sports around.

I will post some pictures when I am not working in my lab.

I met the furry group here last night and they were nice and told me overwhelmingly to attend Fur Eh http://fureh.ca/wordpress/ which I will be doing but that is in May so relatively far away. I will take some pictures of their suits either at the event or when they next dress up
It does not do to leave a live dragon out of your calculations, especially if you live near him.